Advertise on fullfatrr.com »

Home > Technical (L322) > Really want a 4.4 but concerned about gearbox
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 2 12>
Print this entire topic · 
George79

United Kingdom 
Really want a 4.4 but concerned about gearbox

Hi my first post I'm hoping for some advice. I have been toying with buying a 4.4 v8 around 53 plate with between 60-75k but I'm majorly concerned about the gearbox gremlins I keep stumbling across. I am a mechanic but have never had any dealings with autos. What are the signs that the autobox is about to fail or isn't there any sign. I'd love to no what the odds are on a gearbox failing as I'm sure some go on forever ( if it's 1 box in several hundred vehicles I'd be happy to take the risk if 1 in 10 I wouldn't ) thanks for any help or advice it's much appreciated Very Happy

Post #371055 7th Feb 2016 2:47pm
Clivefog

United Kingdom 2003 Range Rover Vogue 4.4 V8 Java Black

It is a known failure but at what ratio I don't know.
I've been around auto box for over 20 years. I think the answer is to drive a few most will feel the same but the odd one feels well odd. Now it could be odd tyres worn other parts of the transmission, but I suspected the box so walked away.
I bought an 03 with78K on the clock, under the warranty have over £2000 in parts replaced don't know about the labour.
I'm sure most parts could be repaired but as they were covered it was replaced apart from the info centre which was repaired. None of them were to do with the box all electric gremlins and I suspect a parked up vehicle for several months.
Go for it you will know a bad one.
Get it flushed, I suspect that is where a lot of the problems lie in the filled for life box!

Post #371066 7th Feb 2016 3:25pm
Haylands

England 2014 Range Rover Autobiography SDV8 Loire Blue

It's all the other bit's that lead to a dead gearbox...

The oil cooler lines block
The oil coolers block
The bottom of the engine rad that feeds the gearbox oil coolers block