Advertise on fullfatrr.com »

Home > Technical (L322) > RR 2003 v8 woes - advice and help please!!
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Print this entire topic · 
rmackinnon

United Kingdom 2003 Range Rover Vogue 4.4 V8 Adriatic Blue
RR 2003 v8 woes - advice and help please!!

Hi Everyone,

I am a newbie on here, and recently purchased an L322 2003 V8 model. Lovely car, but i have a small list of niggles

1) It has a pretty major oil leak which i only discovered after parking on my driveway after collection. Upon a brief inspection it looked like both head gaskets may have been the cause, however the garage who sold me the car is adamant it isnt. They said it was the "oil return banjo joint working loose". I am not sure what that is, but sounds like a fob off to me. There is so much oil, you can smell it burning on the exhaust when you pull up at the lights.

Any ideas on the above? Can an oil return banjo joint really cause this and where is it located? the oil leaks are noticeably at the rear of the engine

2) transmission oil temp sensor triggers a warning during warm up. Its very odd, because once warm, the sensor never throws up issues. Is this a major job to fix?

3) engine whistle - is this related to breather hoses? i noticed that one of the breather hoses on the top of the engine appears to be collapsed (or very nearly)

4) 15mpg average noted on center console - is this related to breather hoses? seems lower than i expected.

Any thoughts on any of the above points are gratefully received.

Cheers

Post #121388 11th May 2012 9:55pm
daveo

United Kingdom 2004 Range Rover Autobiography 4.4 V8 Java Black

hi 1,3 and 4 can be related, if you are talking the PCV breather hoses at the back of the then that is a common fault but can have drastic effects if they block, they also can leak oil, and when not breathing correctly return bad mpg..
 V8 facelift Range Rover Autobiography 22" wheels.
1976 Harley Davidson Iron Head Sportster