Advertise on fullfatrr.com »

Home > General > How much snow (or flooded roads) is too much?
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 2 12>
Print this entire topic · 
Brian

United Kingdom 
How much snow (or flooded roads) is too much?

Silly question I suppose but as a complete novice to 4x4's let alone driving one I was wondering (as the title suggests) just how much snow can a standard unmodified (with normal road wheels and tyres) withstand? are we talking a few inches or more? obviously I know it wont get through real heavy stuff (a few feet) but before i make a complete *** of myself attempting to drive over the mountain roads around here I though it would be a good idea to ask - same question for a flooded road, how deep can I go safely? Mr. Green

Post #298356 11th Dec 2014 2:53pm
Rosco

United Kingdom 2013 Range Rover Autobiography SDV8 Baltic Blue

Dont know re water but I attempted a 4 foot drift a couple of years back and got stuck on summer tyres, may have been my driving but had to reverse out, fortunately it was a rural road so no one saw Rolling with laughter

Post #298359 11th Dec 2014 3:01pm
Emperor Mong

United Kingdom 2019 Range Rover Autobiography 2.0 PHEV Loire Blue

How long is a piece of string?... It really depends on how you drive. If you are a numpty then a light covering of snow or a few inches of water can get you into trouble. If you are sensible then most snow that we have here in the UK is not going to be a problem. It will ford almost three feet of water, so very little will stop you if you know what you are doing.

I think the thing to remember on snow with normal tyres is that the 4x4 will get you going but it makes no difference to turning or stopping. You have a 2.5 tonne car - it will have huge momentum. You can get going when others can't but that just means you can crash at a faster speed.

Winter tyres make a HUGE difference.

Post #298360 11th Dec 2014 3:05pm
vaz

United Kingdom 2007 Range Rover Vogue TDV8 Java Black