Advertise on fullfatrr.com »

Home > General > Father to be needs an economical, reliable run-about
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Print this entire topic · 
Peterg

United Kingdom 
Father to be needs an economical, reliable run-about

So I decided on a Full Fat RR of course!

Hi All, FFRR newbie here. So I’ve always wanted an RR and a L322 in particular. And impending fatherhood now gives me a reason to do it. Plus my current car is a w129 Mercedes SL which doesn’t really score too highly on childseat compatibility.

So wanted a point of view on where to spend my money.

Here’s my criteria and conundrum:

- Has to be a V8 petrol because 1) it does and 2) I live in relatively central London and hence the new emissions rules make diesel a no go. But also needs to be 2007 or after for a petrol version
- Obviously whatever I buy, I’ll be after something looked after with FSH. I have always bought privately rather than trade
- It’s going to be parked on the street in London which means bird poo, bump parking and that’s before the baby has reaked havoc on the interior
- Only going to do about 6000 miles a year so I can live with the horrific fuel consumption
- Max budget is circa £20k. But equally I’d be happy just spending £10k – which as I see it leaves me with 2 options:

Spend £20k ish on a late model 5l supercharged with something like 60-80k on the clock. Or spend quite a lot less on a circa 2008 4.2 supercharged with nearer 100k on the clock, there seem to be plenty in the £10k budget here.

Anyone got any advice on which way to go? Other than buy the most sorted one I see, irrespective of price and age.

Should age and high miles scare me off? I’ve read that that 2007-09 era are the pick of the whole L322 lifecycle? Thanks in advance for any thoughts!

Pete.

Post #494810 6th Nov 2018 6:26pm
stu1

United Kingdom 2007 Range Rover Supercharged 4.2 SC V8 Java Black