Home > General > Another Con advert...
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Print this entire topic · 
Gazellio @ Prestige Cars
Site Sponsor


Member Since: 22 Jan 2010
Location: SITE SPONSOR, Chilterns, UK
Posts: 4072

United Kingdom 2011 Range Rover Supercharged Autobiography Auto Atacama Sand
Another Con advert...

http://www.autotrader.co.uk/classified/adv...?logcode=p

Yawn 
We buy forum member cars - PM for a quote. http://www.garyelliott.co.uk/prestige_cars/

Post #100754 8th Jan 2012 9:53am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Send e-mail Reply with quote
Rambles



Member Since: 16 Apr 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 134

2011 Range Rover TDV8 Vogue SE Auto Stornoway Grey

on the basis the price is too good to be true?

Post #100756 8th Jan 2012 10:18am
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Gazellio @ Prestige Cars
Site Sponsor


Member Since: 22 Jan 2010
Location: SITE SPONSOR, Chilterns, UK
Posts: 4072

United Kingdom 2011 Range Rover Supercharged Autobiography Auto Atacama Sand

As per the title "Another Con Advert"..... 
We buy forum member cars - PM for a quote. http://www.garyelliott.co.uk/prestige_cars/

Post #100758 8th Jan 2012 10:21am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Send e-mail Reply with quote
bozmandb9



Member Since: 06 Dec 2010
Location: Wallingford, Oxfordshire
Posts: 846

Rambles, the price being too low is one indication, the other which confirms it's a con is when they ask you just to contract via e-mail. Usually any phone numbers they give will be invalid or not answered.

Can you think of any valid reason as a genuine seller you would ask people only to contact you via e-mail? If you can, the reason won't apply, you'll find these adverts in virtually every category of Autotrader.

To me the biggest giveaway is the e-mail address in the photo, on the extreme off chance that any valid reason ever made me want no phone calls from an advert, I can't imagine why I'd put my e-mail address in the photo's. However in these scam adverts you'll find it virtually without fail.

Why the hell can't Autotrader just scan each new advert submitted and remove the obvious scams? I guess because they make plenty of money from scam adverts! Neutral 2006 Supercharged

Post #100763 8th Jan 2012 11:13am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
Martin
Site Admin


Member Since: 24 Mar 2007
Location: Warwick
Posts: 702

United Kingdom 2008 Range Rover TDV8 Vogue SE Auto Java Black

Autotrader need to get their act together, they are in danger of losing the plot about scam adverts. There's no quick process to flag up fraudulent ads to them, and if you do get in touch with them they don't remove them.

Appalling. FFRR owner by proxy

Post #100766 8th Jan 2012 11:20am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Send e-mail Reply with quote
Martin
Site Admin


Member Since: 24 Mar 2007
Location: Warwick
Posts: 702

United Kingdom 2008 Range Rover TDV8 Vogue SE Auto Java Black

Well, I take that back (a bit) - Autotrader have now dealt with this one and another one I found last night. Still needs to be easier to flag ads up to them though. FFRR owner by proxy

Post #100769 8th Jan 2012 11:57am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Send e-mail Reply with quote
A1GSS



Member Since: 24 Dec 2010
Location: Saffron Walden, Essex
Posts: 823

England 

I've reported a few and always had a good response. The Irish Autotrader site seems especially prone to scammers... Graham

Formerly known as Antoniasdad

GONE: TDV8 FFRR Vogue in Stornoway Grey / Jet
TDV6 Discovery 3 in Stornoway Grey / Alpaca

Post #100774 8th Jan 2012 12:40pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Send e-mail Reply with quote
mzplcg



Member Since: 26 May 2010
Location: Warwickshire. England. The Commonwealth. (NOT the EU)
Posts: 1020

United Kingdom 2007 Range Rover TDV8 Vogue SE Auto Stornoway Grey

Only a matter of time before Pistonheads replaces Autotrader altogether. Success is the ability to go from one failure to another with no loss of enthusiasm.
Winston Churchill.

Post #100811 8th Jan 2012 7:26pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
Johnte



Member Since: 23 Aug 2010
Location: North Yorkshire
Posts: 367

United Kingdom 2005 Range Rover Td6 Vogue Auto Tonga Green

Presuming there isn't an actual car - how does the 'seller' get the buyer to part with any money ?

Post #100815 8th Jan 2012 7:50pm
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Emperor Mong



Member Since: 07 Jul 2010
Location: London
Posts: 387

United Kingdom 2010 Range Rover 4.4 V8 Autobiography Auto Baltic Blue

Gone? Linky no worky.

Post #100817 8th Jan 2012 8:05pm
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Post Reply  Back to top
Page 1 of 1
All times are GMT + 1 Hour

Jump to  
Previous Topic | Next Topic >
Posting Rules
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB © 2001 phpBB Group. SEO by phpBB SEO
Site Copyright © 2006-2012 Martin Lewis