Home > My Range Rover > 2002 4.4 V8 (BMW) Vogue
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Print this entire topic · 
Boat.Buoy

2002 Range Rover Vogue 4.4 V8 Epsom Green
2002 4.4 V8 (BMW) Vogue

Hi all,

This is a little long winded..just warning you!

Just thought I'd say hi, and thanks really! I've been lurking in the background for some time gaining advice here and there. You chaps do a fantastic job explaining faults and remedies and for that I'm truly thankful. As the title says, I'm fairly new to the L322, in saying that I have owned my 2002 4.4 V8 (BMW) L322 for around 4 years! ...I will explain in due course! Prior to this RR, I've owned a Defender since I was 18 and I could never bare to part with it!

So, the L322, I was originally in the market for one of the last, highest spec, cleanest P38's I could find. During this search I came across this L322, with a blown engine! Now I like a challenge, my Defender has seen all manner of conversion to get it to where it is now so I wasn't scared of a blown engine. After working out the costs I found it financially to viable look at replacing the engine, so set about trying to source a brand new, replacement V8. This proved harder than I first thought, it turns out there were a number of engines that had been purchased as spares for competition vehicles, being sold off...as it happens, in reality there was only a handful and all had been sold by the time I came along, despite many companies and websites offering engines for as little as £3k! So I inquired with Landrover, was quoted around £14k!? Clearly blowing any kind of budget, even a landrover "budget"! Anyway, days turned into night...a few times, until I finally secured a suitable deal, at around £5800 + vat! for a brand new, LR supplied complete engine.