Advertise on fullfatrr.com »

Home > In Car Electronics (L322) > My experience in installing NaviPlus CarPlay in a L322 MY10
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 2 12>
Print this entire topic · 
robkuijpers

Netherlands 
My experience in installing NaviPlus CarPlay in a L322 MY10

Having read many posts on this forum about adding CarPlay to the entertainment system of the L322 (I have 2012 FFRR) I would like to share my experience about the NaviPlus kit.

On YouTube there are a few obscure demos of CarPlay upgrades on the Denso Display unit that comes with the L322 MY10 (2010-2012). I contacted a few of these parties asking for the installation instructions as I wanted to assess in advance the amount of work, complexity and risk of the installation before making this hefty investment. Some only provided pricing and a payment link, others did not respond at all. NaviPlus was very responsive and sent me their installation manual. After having studied it (I am an electronics engineer) I thought I would be able to do the installation, so I accepted the challenge and ordered their kit.

After ordering NaviPlus contacted me to be absolutely sure I have the L322 with the Denso Dual Display unit, which is good as they have a kit is specifically for this unit which cannot be used for display units of earlier L322 models.

The kit arrived after a few weeks. After the summer holidays I found the time and courage to start the project. The manual contains clear photographs and brief instructions how to remove all the parts of the dashboard. A lot has to go: the all the passenger side trims, lower and upper glovebox, the air vents (left, right and top), the upper dashboard (with Airbags), etc. It took me 3-4 hours, mainly because I was very careful and often didn’t now where to find those hidden upholstery clamps and didn’t know how much force to use to remove those parts.