Advertise on fullfatrr.com »

Home > General > Could have been worse.......
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 2 12>
Print this entire topic · 
Andy S

United Kingdom 2015 Range Rover Vogue SE SDV8 Aintree Green
Could have been worse.......

Thought I’d share my experience yesterday.

Having spent the day visiting various sites in the Midlands for work (I’m a surveyor) I was heading home travelling along the M50. I passed a truck and heard something rattle round the off side wheel arch, got a bong and warning lights telling rear off side tyre had lost pressure Shocked I’m doing 70 at this point, but no drama, the car stayed planted, so moved carefully to the hard shoulder and stopped. Hazards on, donned the hi viz and got out to investigate. Totally flat tyre with a bolt sized hole smack in the middle of the tread Shocked Shocked

Called LR Assist at 15 .25. At 16.10 LR Assist tech appeared changed the wheel and had my on my way by 16.20. I called my trusted Main Dealer who said bring the car in first thing and they would sort me out a new tyre. By 10.30 this morning all sorted and the car was cleaned for me.

Excellent service all round, but what really impressed me was how the car behaved. It could have been catastrophic, but there was no sudden change to the handling, it was like it was politely telling me to ease off and pull over when safe. Just awesome! That said, I’m glad it happened on the M50, a lightly trafficked road and not later in the journey on the “smart” M4 - that might have been a touch more challenging!

Post #572065 7th Nov 2020 12:38pm
AnotherMutley

United Kingdom 

Had a similar experience in my Sport but the bolt that I went over was kicked out of the wheelarch and up the rear quarter, causing a fair bit of damage.

Like you say, could have been a lot worse. Thumbs Up

Post #572069 7th Nov 2020 1:27pm
V8Noise

United Kingdom 2017 Range Rover Autobiography 5.0 SC V8 Carpathian Grey