Home > General > Buy a used 3.0 TD L322
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 2 12>
Print this entire topic · 
Lancelot15

Spain 
Buy a used 3.0 TD L322

Hi!

I just found this great forum and wanted to get your advice. I'm able to purchase a L322 from 2006 with 300.000 kilometers and an ask price of 4.200 €, including the name change. It's a 3.0 TD BMW with 177 HP. However, the valve box has to be replaced (about 1.600 €) and the owner has said to me that it would be better to do the whole gearbox (2.000 - 2.500 €) instead. That would be a total of 6.700 € if I go with the full repair.

I can afford to spend around 1.500 €/year in maintenance, but I have no experience with this type of car. Do you think that it's possible to keep this car with these resources? And do you think the purchase price is good? I'm located in Barcelona, Spain.

Thanks in advance!

All the best

Post #656632 14th Feb 2023 6:45pm
Lancelot15

Spain 

Here are some images:

Front

Back

Interior

The four tires are new, and it's in good overall shape.

Post #656655 14th Feb 2023 10:04pm
Phoenix

United Kingdom 

That seems a lot of money for the age, kilometres and known repairs needed. I'd hope not to be spending 1500EUR p.a. once all known issues are resolved maybe 500EUR p.a. +tyres as required. Honestly, and despite working in 'the industry' I know nothing about used car values, I'd say 4200EUR less the gearbox cost would be reasonable to me.

Nice looking car BTW

Post #656658 14th Feb 2023 10:14pm
Lancelot15

Spain 

Hi Phoenix, thanks a lot for your reply!

I'm relieved that you think 500 € / year is more sound than 1.500 €. I'll try to negotiate the gearbox value, but for what the owner has told me, it's unlikely I'll get it cheaper.

Can you make any recommendation on L322 version for purchase? The first year I have a budget around 15.000 € for the car + repairs.

Yes, it looks awesome!

Post #656664 14th Feb 2023 10:40pm
Phoenix

United Kingdom