Advertise on fullfatrr.com »

Home > General (L405) > Questionable displays on Fuel Consumption and Service?
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 2 12>
Print this entire topic · 
fatdivot

United Kingdom 2017 Range Rover Vogue SE TDV6 Loire Blue
Questionable displays on Fuel Consumption and Service?

Hi, I'm new to a 2017 L405 3.0 TDV6 (previously Disco4) and am amazed at the inaccuracy of the fuel consumption display and also the indicated miles to oil and DEF service. So I'd be interested in hearing some expert views.

First, after over 1,000 miles of careful driving (Eco readout 98% to 100%) the average MPG displayed is 35.8, which I would be pleased with, but doing exact brim-to-brim refuelling measurements the calculated real consumption is only 30.7 MPG - and that assumes the milometer is giving true mileage covered and not also exaggerating! That's a significant amount of lying.

Secondly, the displayed distance to next oil service is tumbling at over twice the rate of miles actually covered, which will mean next oil service will be at roughly 7,000 miles since last service and not the 16,000 miles quoted.

Finally, the displayed distance to DEF service is erratic ... sometimes tumbling slower than actual miles covered, but more often tumbling much quicker.

My journeys have been mixed commuting of 10 miles each way and longer runs of up to 100 miles if that makes a difference.

Thanks

Post #658088 28th Feb 2023 2:21pm
fisha

2015 Range Rover Autobiography SDV8 Aruba

the short journeys will be bringing it down. There is a long running thread of dpf regeneration on here. If i understand it correctly, it’ll try regeneration on a short journey but not complete as the journey isn’t long enough and each regen process dilutes the oil, and if its not completing, then its trying again and diluting the oil more often … which in turn reduces the mileage before service quicker too. V8 or else ...

Post #658135 28th Feb 2023 11:37pm
Phoenix

United Kingdom