Advertise on fullfatrr.com »

Home > Technical (L322) > Are wheel bearings directional?
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Print this entire topic · 
Buckie1967

United Kingdom 2012 Range Rover Autobiography 4.4 V8 Buckingham Blue
Are wheel bearings directional?

Before I put my new wheel bearings into the knuckle is there a specific way round they need to go in?

I have read that some bearings are magnetic on one side and they need to be inserted so that the ABS sensor is in line with the magnetic side otherwise your ABS sensor will fail and you'll get the dreaded warning light.

I have original LR bearings and have tested them with some metal but they don't seem to be magnetic on either side.

Post #664092 14th May 2023 2:41pm
Merchy

United Kingdom 2006 Range Rover Vogue Td6 Zermatt Silver

I am a marine engineer and fitting bearings all the time, most bearings are not directional, only if for designed for specific fitting / purposes.
On the wheel bearing you will see makers markings / bearing number, I usually fit the bearing so these markings are on the outside so they can be seen if working on the car / machine.
The spare ones I have are made by FAG, other reputable makers are SKF etc. As long as the bearings are from a reputable maker there is no difference, JLR source their bearings from such makers. Do not buy Chinese bearings, note - Large bearing makers do have factories ALL over the world, as for Chinese bearings, the ones I have seen do not last long.