Advertise on fullfatrr.com »

Home > Technical (L322) > Newbie question on residual heater/ parking heater/ FBH what
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Print this entire topic · 
Lester Burnham

United Kingdom 
Newbie question on residual heater/ parking heater/ FBH what

Dear all, I'm very new to RR ownership and cant seem to get my fuel burning heater working. Trouble is I don't know if "I'm doing it wrong" or there is a genuine problem. If the latter I would like to know as the warranty runs out in a few weeks!

I've tried the residual/parking heat function every morning last week by pressing the MAX AC button after stopping and I didn't feel or hear anything working and it got so cold I had to get out and go inside!

I've used my little fob to try and start the pre-heater tonight (9 degrees ambient) and can briefly hear a very faint click and whir from near the front, plus the dash buttons flash, but when I get in its just pumping COLD air (it shuts down seconds after I get in). Funnily I think this worked hen I first got the car as I got a stench of diesel when I tried the fob?!?

The residual heating function and pre-warming function were two of the things I was looking forward to the most about RR ownership. When the parking heater appeared fubared I thought I may simply have a problem with the auxilliary water pump. Now I cant get the pre heater to work I'm stumped.

Does anyone have a step by step fault elimination guide? Does any experienced owner in or around Durham have the time to imaprt some knowledge over a cuppa?

Last edited by Lester Burnham on 1st Nov 2018 10:08am. Edited 2 times in total

Post #494289 1st Nov 2018 1:00am
AJGalaxy2012

United Kingdom 2012 Range Rover Vogue SE 4.4 V8 Bonatti Grey

I have exactly the same situation, apparently caused by the battery. If I connect my battery charger then it all works as it should, you probably need a new battery even though it starts the car OK. BMW i3 Electric Car