Advertise on fullfatrr.com »

Home > In Car Electronics (L322) > Calling all caravan and powered trailer experts
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Print this entire topic · 
tomthevet

Scotland 2005 Range Rover Vogue Td6 Tonga Green
Calling all caravan and powered trailer experts

I just bought a camping/expedition type trailer with its own in built leisure battery for lights, webasto, water pump etc. The battery has a lead connected for charging but just for attachment to a normal charger ie the leads just end up as bare wire terminals to attach crocodile clips to.

Now I am no expert with regards tow bar electrics at all so please be kind!!!

If I connect up this cable to a tow bar connector to go to the white plug on my towbar will this charge the battery potentially at the cost of draining the one in the car if its left connected? If this is the case I guess this is the reason people use split chargers to protect the car battery?

I dont really want to mess about with the wiring in the car itself but could I connect a split charger or something similar in the trailer itself so the leisure battery only charges if the car battery is fully charged? Whats the easiest solution? I suppose I could just wire it up and make sure I disconnect when left hitched but car stopped overnight or something?

Whats the general consensus?

And why so many pins in the white connector? What else goes through this?

T

EDIT:
Just found this:
http://www.pfjones.co.uk/tow-bar-electrics.html

So does that mean if my car has a twin electrics tow bar fitted that the 7 pin secondary socket is already protected by a split charging relay? I am sorry but dont know who fitted the towbar electrics as was on when I got it but it looks standard (Westphalia?) so can I check somewhere for presence of the relay?

Post #199831 21st Jul 2013 12:31pm
Cam-Tech-Craig

England 2015 Range Rover SVAutobiography SDV8 Loire Blue