Advertise on fullfatrr.com »

Home > In Car Electronics (L322) > Sat Nav - "Temperature Error, shutting down"
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 2 of 2 <12
Print this entire topic · 
TTF



Member Since: 06 Feb 2012
Location: Wiltshire
Posts: 116

United Kingdom 2014 Range Rover Vogue SE SDV8 Santorini Black

Hi guys,

I forgot I started this thread and have just noticed it! My RR at the time was a 2008 TDV8 VSE and it spent months in the local dealer being looked at when they had time. Long and short if it is they blanked off/mirrored every lead into the nav unti and eventually found it was related to the TV systm. They bypassed it (using a prism if I remember correctly) from the system and bingo, no further issues!

I am sure this is not the case for everyone but I would do this first and then work through the other leads.

I hope this helps. RR 4.4 SDV8 Vogue SE
NAS, 50th, SV, 90 CSW 300 Tdi
Series 2a SWB 200 Di

Post #485859 12th Aug 2018 10:32pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
stan
Site Moderator


Member Since: 13 Jul 2010
Location: a moderate moderated moderator moderating moderately in moderation
Posts: 30915

England 2016 Range Rover Vogue TDV6 Indus Silver

thanks for the update. Thumbs Up .



click on links below for more info ,

WIKI
DONATE
FFRR CAR STICKER
HOW TO POST PICTURES

Post #485879 13th Aug 2018 6:45am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
JMC



Member Since: 01 Feb 2009
Location: Aberdeen-Angus
Posts: 286

Scotland 2009 Range Rover Vogue TDV8 Stornoway Grey

Well I thought that all my probelms were solved when a replacement head-unit appeared on eBay last week at a very good price. It duly arrived and I set-about removing the whole dashboard assembly after watching several youtube videos on 'how to'..... Unfortunately, the videos were all for a 2006 vehicle and I can tell you that there are several diferences with a 2008 vehicle, although the basic premise was the same.

Anyway, I fitted up the replacement unit and put everything back together, with only two screws remaining in my ample pile of removed items once everything was back together! The stereo appeared to be working too. Then, the dreaded 'Temperature Error' appeared again.

So, I have an update as follows:

Either I have purchased someone else's faulty unit with the same problem.
OR
The fault is not in the head unit.

My next logical avenue is to look for the amplifier, as it is very obviously not in the head unit. My theory being that the heat sensor is bound to be in the amp, as that's where there's going to be the most heat generated.

On the plus side, I managed to clean loads of bits and pieces that you just can't get to when your hoovering the car and I've learned a fair bit into the bargain. Still can't think where the two 'spare' screws have come from though..... Embarassed The older I get, the more I realise that people confuse wrinkles for wisdom Smile

Post #486187 15th Aug 2018 5:08pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
adamjcooper1



Member Since: 08 Apr 2018
Location: cannock
Posts: 2

United Kingdom 2007 Range Rover Vogue SE TDV8 Java Black
Temperature Error, shutting down

Just wondering if resolved issue, as mine still occurring
Replaced
head unit,
Sat Nav unit - as was not reading disc.

Post #524218 9th Aug 2019 10:57am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
JMC



Member Since: 01 Feb 2009
Location: Aberdeen-Angus
Posts: 286

Scotland 2009 Range Rover Vogue TDV8 Stornoway Grey

It's only taken me four years, but I believe I have now fixed this today! Razz

The issue is not with the head unit, or the sat-nav DVD, but it is the Hybrid TV module causing the fault.

Today, I took delivery of a replacement for my own unit. The part number is XRA500220 and I understand it covers D3, RRS & FFRR from about 2005-2008. Not only is the replacement the same part number, but both the SW version and the HW version (software/hardware) are the same.

Before I stripped everything out from the boot, I piggy-backed the replacement unit with the existing cables and ran it for a few minutes without any issue. I swapped the cables back again and was immediately met with the shutting down problem.

I then set about doing a permanent replacement, swapping out the units and putting everything back together. I've only done a few miles and started the car / switched off / started again a few times, but thus far, nothing untoward. I have a very strong feeling that the problem is now resolved.

Looking forward to listening to the radio and using the bluetooth again without everything being shut down at the inopportune moment. Thumbs Up The older I get, the more I realise that people confuse wrinkles for wisdom Smile

Post #536806 9th Dec 2019 5:49pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
RJH



Member Since: 22 Mar 2015
Location: Coventy
Posts: 279

England 2011 Range Rover Vogue TDV8 Santorini Black

Good news JMC Thumbs Up
Ive been thinking along the same lines, mines a fan error on the fault code & only unit I see with a fan is the TV module.
My bypass lead arrived today & only had a couple of minutes so just bypassed the BT module & same fault continued so hopefully ruled that out Thumbs Up
I'll do a bit more this week when I get time & bypass the next one Laughing

Rob. 2011 (MY12) 4.4 TDV8 Vogue
2016 Golf GTI PP

Gone
Audi A4
VW Passat
VW Corrado G60
VW Golf GTI
BMW E30
Mini
Vauxhall Chvette

Post #536836 9th Dec 2019 9:42pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
mick-ne



Member Since: 30 Nov 2013
Location: durham
Posts: 133

England 2004 Range Rover Vogue 4.4 V8 Java Black

Hi, I have had the same problem fitted a loop to the TV unit Today and problem has gone.

Post #537225 12th Dec 2019 11:00pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
JMC



Member Since: 01 Feb 2009
Location: Aberdeen-Angus
Posts: 286

Scotland 2009 Range Rover Vogue TDV8 Stornoway Grey

A few days on, a good few miles and countless ignition cycles since changing the hybrid TV unit. Problem is definitely solved. Chuffed to bits. Razz The older I get, the more I realise that people confuse wrinkles for wisdom Smile

Post #537290 13th Dec 2019 5:09pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
RJH



Member Since: 22 Mar 2015
Location: Coventy
Posts: 279

England 2011 Range Rover Vogue TDV8 Santorini Black

Hi JMC,
Did you do a battery reset or iid one at all or just plug the TV module in?
I've torn all my modules out, tried bypassing all / leaving cables out as if the module doesn't exist & im still getting the same fault. Censored
Put a bypass loop on one at a time for
Amp, DHB, TV, BT modules.
It's such a PITA as it needs to r boot up every time & im trying not to kill the battery as I'm doing it..
Only thing that makes a difference is if I leave the fibre optic out, head unit just has the RRLogo

Big Cry
Rob. 2011 (MY12) 4.4 TDV8 Vogue
2016 Golf GTI PP

Gone
Audi A4
VW Passat
VW Corrado G60
VW Golf GTI
BMW E30
Mini
Vauxhall Chvette

Post #537789 18th Dec 2019 3:39pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
mick-ne



Member Since: 30 Nov 2013
Location: durham
Posts: 133

England 2004 Range Rover Vogue 4.4 V8 Java Black

Hi,

I was getting the constant shutdown for 5 mins the re boot and shutdown again.

After reading here about TV module I fitted the loop straight to this unit.

Started car and got constant Land Rover logo on screen no shutdown.

Did Battery reset and all working fine.

I wonder if there is a way to check the loop ?

On my Bluetooth unit I have already by passed using the Biro method, maybe try that on the TV unit.

Hope you get sorted.

Post #537947 19th Dec 2019 10:09pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
LiamCuz



Member Since: 25 Mar 2020
Location: Northumberland
Posts: 3

England 2009 Range Rover Vogue TDV8 Santorini Black

Hi guys

My 2009 l322 is doing the exact same thing. I’ve been looking at Tv hybrid modules to buy and I’m a bit confused.
My module has TCR Hybrid TV, 7H42 19C063-AB on it. And the ones I’ve seen have just TV hybrid on them or PAG. Is there a difference?
Also they have a different code at the beginning such as AH42 and UH42 but the second part 19C063 remains the same. Again, is there a difference?

Will any of these others fit and work in my RR.

Thanks

Post #548192 25th Mar 2020 2:07am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Post Reply
Post Reply  Back to top
Page 2 of 2 <12
All times are GMT + 1 Hour

Jump to  
Previous Topic | Next Topic >
Posting Rules
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Site Copyright © 2006-2020 Futuranet Ltd & Martin Lewis


Switch to Mobile site