Home > Technical (L405) > Whistling sound when cornering
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Print this entire topic · 
MonkeyMan

United Kingdom 2013 Range Rover Autobiography SDV8 Causeway Grey
Whistling sound when cornering

Hello all

Recently picked up my first RR, 2013 AB. I'm new to much of this after being in Jags for the last 20 years. One question is about the air suspension. In mine, there is a definite whistling/hissing/squealing sound from the left hand side of the car (both front and rear) when cornering. There is no corresponding sound from the right hand side.

It's under warranty, and Im used to JLR vehicles having 'quirks', just wondered if anyone else has encountered this before I take it back in to be checked? Be good to give the grease monkeys an idea of what the fault is.

Post #592345 25th Apr 2021 4:12pm
Merchy

United Kingdom 2006 Range Rover Vogue Td6 Zermatt Silver

Is this noise only apparent when cornering one way, or cornering both ways. If the noise is loud enough to be heard, then if it is from the air suspension, I would think you would have had other air sus issues by now.
Some noises can be very deceptive, ie squealing could be from a bearing or brakes, or something else rubbing.

Upon taking it to the dealer, insist that someone accompanies you on a test drive so you can hear it when they do before they investigate.

Post #592385 25th Apr 2021 10:02pm
MonkeyMan

Sorry for the delayed reply, been tied up with work. I had a good listen yesterday when driving, it happens when turning both ways, but the sound is only from the left hand side of the car. Its got to go in soon and have a towbar fitted, so the garage will check it out then.

Post #592508 27th Apr 2021 8:57am
knwatkins

United Kingdom 2014 Range Rover Vogue SE SDV8 Corris Grey

Welcome to the forum. I had exactly this issue with mine when I bought it last year. See my thread here.