Advertise on fullfatrr.com »

Home > Maintenance & Mods (L405) > Ghost II immob / Warranty
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Print this entire topic · 
Swasher

United Kingdom 2017 Range Rover Vogue SE SDV8 Corris Grey
Ghost II immob / Warranty

Hi all, can't say how overjoyed I am owning a FF after searching for the right spec / ext colour/int colour, etc since September..!!

My question is..erm..'hypothetical'....:
I've just had an LR Warranty added to my MD's sale, all good I thought.
After the paranoia of thinking I'd wake up with the FF missing from my driveway, until I found many refs to the Ghost II immobiliser.
Wow.. perfect..until I discovered LR states that the Warranty is invalidated by fitting it.

So... what are the chances of LR detecting that one has been fitted, hypothetically, OR.. is it impossible to switch it off (instead of going into 'Service' mode)..?

I am a newbie, with a lot to learn..
Bow down MY17 VSE FF Corris

Post #630997 8th May 2022 5:14pm
Bmax01

United Kingdom 2016 Range Rover Autobiography SDV8 Loire Blue

I think fitting a Ghost may make it more difficult to make a warranty claim for electrical / wiring issues. But I don't see how LR can reasonably refuse to cover a mechanical issue just because you've had a Ghost fitted. But that's just my layman's opinion.

As to whether they can tell if you've fitted a Ghost if you've put it on valet mode, I don't think so necessarily unless it arms itself - which can happen if the garage takes it for a prolonged road test over 37 mph. So you should be fine.

Not helpful to you now you've had the Ghost fitted, but I went for a Starline i96 which is slightly more secure (much more difficult to override via the OBD port) but also allows you to totally switch off the immobiliser so very unlikely a MD garage would be aware you've had one fitted.

Good luck! L405 4.4 AB Loire Blue
Tesla Model Y
Audi A6 2012 (sold)
BMW 5 series 3.0 petrol, champagne II edition (sold)