Advertise on fullfatrr.com »

Home > General > I KNEW IT - PULLED WITHIN 2 WEEKS OF FITTING A PRIVATE PLATE
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 3 123>
Print this entire topic · 
doublejay

I KNEW IT - PULLED WITHIN 2 WEEKS OF FITTING A PRIVATE PLATE

Censored Censored Censored

I'm fuming. I've been driving for 20 years and never bother with a private plate. My wife bought one for to go with the Range. It's been fitted 2 week and I get stopped by the Censored Censored police in Wales.

Let say my plate is "J61 JNV". I have change the space, to read "J61J NV". ie moved the spaced. Now of course, to the letter of the law, you're not spposed to change it in any way. I have no fancy font, no black screw caps to change letters, nothing. All standard apart from the space.

The Censored Censored sat me in his car, did the usual "I could write you up for £1000 with the DVLA" lalalalal garbage and issued a ticket for me to get it changed and stamped by a MOT garage as legal.

He said it was recorded on a camera positioned back up the road who would have sent details to the DVLA. He also said if it's not recorded as 'fixed' within 14 days, my car is marked and any look up with reveal "EVIDENCE to prosecute".

So, before go on a ballistic style rant, I know that at least one reader on this forum is a member of her majesty's finest.....and I wondered if they had any advice for me ?

Neutral

Post #19087 29th May 2010 7:12pm
simonmanx

Isle Of Man 2005 Range Rover Vogue SE Td6 Java Black

I get pulled everytime im in the uk when I pass one of those camears as my reg is not on the uk database Big Cry It does Censored you off when they can see the isle of man flag on the plate too very clearly

Post #19088 29th May 2010 7:17pm
hoppy_70

England 2010 Range Rover Vogue SE TDV8 Zermatt Silver

Seems harsh to me..... The spacing of the numbers isn't crucial to anything. ANPR can still read it and the speed cameras still work.