Home > Technical (L322) > Debutante with questions about iPhone/iPod
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Print this entire topic · 
Greg66

2006 Range Rover Supercharged 4.2 SC V8 Santorini Black
Debutante with questions about iPhone/iPod

Greetings! Newbie here.

I'm considering an 07 FFRR to replace my now ageing A8. I've upgraded the Sat Nav in that to give me bluetooth for the iPhone and to take SD cards, so c 1000 tracks.

From what I can make out, iPod integration in the RR is a bit rudimentary. I assume the iPhone will operate handsfree as a phone over bluetooth - correct? Can I access my phone's contacts list from the car, or the steering wheel though? Can I voice control an iPhone?

As for accessing music, i've not seen anything that suggests that I could play music from an iPhone over the RR's ICE system via a Bluetooth connection. Correct? So i'm looking at hardwired connections for either the iPhone or an old iPod I have hanging around. How much control of the iPod do I get though? I've seen comments that I get the first five playlists subbed in as CDs 1-5. Correct? Can I scroll between them from the ICE system, or via the steering wheel? Can I get a better level of integration - such as having access to all the iPod functions from the ICE system?

And if I were to go for a Vogue SE and get the rear DVD player, where is that located physically, and what outputs does it connect to. I am wondering whether I could sub in a mini hard disc video player, which would give a library of 30+ films to choose from

TIA.

Post #35706 11th Nov 2010 1:10am
doublejay

I''ll kick it off, might neeed others to fill in :

1. Bluetooth phone / handsfree is pretty good although not the best. My old Blackberry connected 1st time everytime, somestime the iphone needs a nudge.