Advertise on fullfatrr.com »

Home > Technical (L405) > I'm now a Regeneration trainee nerd--lol
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 8 of 23 <123 ... 789 ... 212223>
Print this entire topic · 
luxmoggy

Germany 2019 Range Rover Autobiography SDV8 Montalcino Red

So doing my first trip with the gap tool monitoring the soot. So I started with 3.4g. I have driven 700km. The soot never got higher than 5g. The passive regen reduced that to 0g at times. After driving through the Fernpass, which was slower soot was still not higher than 4g. An active regen started - not sure why, but if using car scanner pro I assume that it would have reached 100% soot. A short journey today. Then the car will sit for a week. Before the drive home. SDV8 AB MY 2020
MINI Cooper S Cabrio
Kit: Jaguar XK140 (in progress - the website is link to build)

Post #651494 23rd Dec 2022 6:31am
Kot

United Kingdom 

Luxmoggy
I get to about 52 to 54% soot, then I usually, depending on conditions being met Rolling with laughter get an active Regen, only when it triggers to value 2 (active regen) does it default to 100% soot.
That 100%, is just another indicator that a AR has started, and if you stop the car and Regen is interrupted, on starting again the 100% remains, which is an indicator the system will when conditions are met want to restart the AR cycle it doesn't mean the DPF is 100% full.
The trigger will be 0 or 1 (passive) until conditions are met for 2 (AR) and restarts.

Regarding soot g v soot %, I can only presume % is % of volume of DPF so should relate to values in WSM and posted in similar DPF threads. (shown below)
But then you get into another question Rolling with laughter what weight is Ash compared to soot, is grams a good measure ? or is % the better realistic value to use? We all are aware, the soot is burnt off in the AR process, I presume ash