Advertise on fullfatrr.com »

Home > LPG > 4.4 Jag and SC owners on LPG
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 3 of 4 <1234>
Print this entire topic · 
tb10

England 2005 Range Rover Vogue 4.4 V8 Tonga Green

I’ve been using LPG for over 15 years and had intermittent issues with various cars. I’ve got a SC in the stable now and there’s no way I’m going to convert that for the reasons Lighthouse alludes to despite having a brand new Prins system and the coding software. I did put hardened valves into one of my cars once but it was the head that then went, and not the valves, again as Lighthouse says happened to him.

I think if you’re going to buy a SC, run it for what it is, but if you want to use LPG, get a 4.4M62 BMW unit.

Regards

John

Post #545640 1st Mar 2020 8:27am
lighthouse

United Kingdom 2011 Range Rover Autobiography 5.0 SC V8 Santorini Black

The BMW 4.4 are fine to convert no issues with those ones.

I just added a 5.0 late L322 to my stable and I am leaving it 100% petrol if you work out the cost of 2 heads or hardened valves you have to do one hell of a lot of miles to offset the fuel cost.

As for why I scaped it was at the point that it was a 2006 car, worth 4K ish and I would have had to spend at least it’s own value to fix it, then you still have all the other things that come with a 15 year old motor like older controls and style. So I scraped and have spent the last 11 months looks for a decent late L322 that has all the things I want.

Like I said before I am not anti LPG it’s great I had my own skid was excellent value in terms of fuel cost. It’s just you need the right engine and the post 2006 SC’s in the range are not them. If your talking BMW lumps I’m the range go for it will be awesome.

It was a sad day saying good bye to a range that you had driven over 60000 miles in and had killed.

Like I said I’m not expert just an amateur who likes to play with his stable of cars from classics to modern day motors.