Advertise on fullfatrr.com »

Home > Technical (L322) > How to Find Top Dead Center TDV8
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 12 123 ... 101112>
Print this entire topic · 
theanswers

Ireland 
How to Find Top Dead Center TDV8

So Everyone, It's come to the point where I'm going at my TDV8 engine myself. I am going to remove the damaged cylinder head and discover what damage has been done by my failing EGR valve.

I'm only a novice and have not done anything like this before. The person who is helping me has rebuilt a number of engines years ago - so both of us are a little rusty!!

Anyways, Currently the engine sits as follows. I've downloaded the Workshop manual and purchase a number parts including the engine timing kit. How does one find top dead center on number 1 cylinder?

We can lock the cylinder heads in place, and there is a timing pin hole in the block. Is this Top Dead Center? We will be doing slow and steady, there is no room for error!! At this point, depending on what damage we find our aim is to remove the LH cylinder head! We do have a spare LH hand cylinder head and block!!

Also, what do the small dots represent on the heads?

Cheers for the input.

Click image to enlarge

Last edited by theanswers on 5th Nov 2016 9:34pm. Edited 1 time in total

Post #412058 4th Nov 2016 10:29am
Haylands

England 2014 Range Rover Autobiography SDV8 Loire Blue

Not being funny but if you can't determine top dead center on an engine without asking then I seriously think you should let someone else rebuild it, you could end up spending a lot of money on parts and destroy the engine in seconds when started...

Sorry to be negative, just trying to save you some money...

There is nothing special about the TDV8 engine, any modern engine builder should be able to do it... Pete

2002 L322 Vogue 4.4 V8 Epson Green, Ivory over Aspen Interior (Fatty Offroader) Sold
-Click for Project Fatty off roader-

Post #412096 4th Nov 2016 3:18pm
theanswers

Ireland