Advertise on fullfatrr.com »

Home > Technical (L405) > I'm now a Regeneration trainee nerd--lol
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 21 of 23 <123 ... 20 212223>
Print this entire topic · 
Gremlin500

United Kingdom 2017 Range Rover Vogue TDV6 Corris Grey

Hi Kot, yes normally, I would agree.
But, in this case, the regen kicked in at half the average distance, and when almost none of the “warm up” conditions or even possibly speed, had been reached.
In other words, high soot % can and will override everything, which increases the chances of a failed regen due to road & traffic conditions.

Call it “Regen or Bust” mode Shocked

Just something for peeps to be aware of, and not sail too close to the wind…… planning is everything. “If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it” -where’s the fun in that?

Post #685062 8th Feb 2024 11:17am
AndyRoo

Scotland 2012 Range Rover Westminster TDV8 Fuji White

Hi, there seems to be some folks who are thinking fuel in the oil is down to failed DPF regenerations, this is not true, fuel gets into the sump during the exhaust stroke regardless of whether the regen is successful or not as the DPF is downstream of the exhaust port, i.e. the diesel (or most of it) has already passed through the engine before it reaches the DPF.

There is a case to say that if the engine is turned off that any unburnt fuel in the engine does not get blown out the exhaust and therefore trickles down into the sump, but this is also a false flag as the same would apply to normal operation when the engine switched off mid stroke regardless of if a regen were active or not.